Sunday, March 10, 2024

Beavertails.


We now have a Beavertails pastry place here in town( the pastry is shown here, so named as it looks like, well, you know, a beaver tail!) they come in various flavours but my fave. is the classic sugar cinnamin like the one shown here. I remember first having these back when we lived in Ottawa when skating on the Rideau Canal. They remind me of the Portuguese fejoses (I have no idea if I even spelled that right!) pronounced fey-hoses which are similar deep-fried pastries sprinkled with sugar cinnamin I had as a kid and surprisingly my mother still remembers even after all these years and she surprisingly also still remembers other things from our past long ago, incl. Mr. Bill from Saturday Night Live , my friend J( from grade 8) getting into a fight with my neighbour and when he yelled at her, You shut you big mouth! she yelled back at him, You shut your bald head! Big Head, No Shape!! and even the Sir John.A. Mac- Bluh-Bluh, Bluh-Bluh joke she made for me when I was little(you had to be there, really, you did.) and later today I go to visit her as well and I can't believe it's already been 6 months she's been at the LTC home! Time goes by so fast!!

The 16 YR old's also been sick and living downstairs on the couch for the past few days and his cough's getting really bad(he sounds like a walrus) so I hope it's NOT turning into pneumonia or something, and yesterday my hubby comes back from pickleball( he stayed late and played longer, dawdling as usual and forgetting all about the time) and I asked him if he remembered to pick up my pills at the pharmacy on the way back and of course he didn't so he had to run back out and get them ,last-minute, just before they closed, and I had run out of my migraine pills 2 days before but luckily he made it just in time or I'd be S.O.L until tomorrow as they're closed on Sunday! We also had torrential rain all day yesterday too it was almost like a monsoon and Buddy refused to go out to do his "business" all day and just turned right around and said "no way!" so yesterday was a shit and pee on the carpet day. We also still have 2 clocks with the old time on it this morning, the microwave and the stove because the 16 YR old's the only one who knows how to switch it (you practically need an engineering degree to figure it out)and he's sick so now it's an hour behind.

Yesterday I also tried to order some weed for the month the first time using my new credit card, the replacement since my old one got hacked and of course with MY "luck" it didn't work( doesn't it just figure?) and this message(seen here) kept showing up and I got so frustrated( why is everything so hard for me all the time though and such a struggle? Why can't things just ever work out and go right,and the first  time like it does for everyone else?) so I had to call my hubby for help( and he hates it when I bother him with my stupid problems) but of course as soon as he saw the message he knew what it was right away and it just took him less than a minute to fix it(easy for him to say) apparantly my old credit card was registered with my account and it wouldn't accept any other ( who knew? Well, I guess he did) so he had to go into my account and alter it to add the new credit card so it would be allowed,too.
What do you know?
So it finally worked. Yay!
Life is hard when you're stupid.

The 29 YR old also went a seedy bar twice last week and it worries me hanging out at such places with low-lifes and degenerates and bad stuff always happens at places like that,too; bar fights, shootings, stabbings, etc. and even though he's an adult I still worry, and he finally found his long-lost wallet,too: it was in his friend's wife's car! Last time they went to jiu-jitsu his friend's car was in the shop or whatever so they took his wife's car and he'd put it in the glovebox and forgot and there it was.....and he even had 300$ in there he'd forgotten about,too! Yay! My stupid computer also changed the way it uploads images now too and it's much slower and confusing and I HATE having to learn new things and re-adjust and it stressing me out to no end and I hate having to start my day off like that,  and yesterday Buddy kept mooching off me even after I'd finished eating and I told him, Sorry, but I can't give you what I don't have and I thought the same applies to the kids,too; they think I was such a bad mother (even though I wasn't even aware of it)even though I meant well, had good intentions and tried and did the best I could with what I had but I can't give what I haven't got and can't  teach what I never learned and can't share what I never had myself, and I wonder too if the "lesson" with the "ficus"/fig tree suddenly blossoming after 21 YRS of inactivity is that maybe it's never too "late" to bloom?

I love them enough to let them go.

 

 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Musing For The Day.